Minutes of the 199th New Brunswick Faculty Council Meeting
December 12, 2014
Members Present: J. Aiello, M. Baykal-Gursoy, S. Bhuyan, R. Boikess, M. Fuentes (for C. Bunch), S. Cirignano, S. Connolly, M. Cotter (Chair), M. Doerfel, B. Chu (for D. Fishman), J. Friedman, M. Gasparotto, M. Gliserman, A. Hetling, P. Hirshfield, M. Katehakis, M-K. Joo, M. Killingsworth, J-H. Kim, P. Klein, J. Langsam, C. Lugg, K. McKeever, A. Pichugin, D. Redlawsk, D. Scheck, J. Scheinbeim, M. Schwander, S. Shapses, T. Stephens, T. Szatrowski, B. Tesar, K. Thompson, R. Welch, J. Worobey, L. Yu, J. Zahn

Non-Members Present: R. Edwards (New Brunswick Chancellor), K. Swalagin (Recording Secretary)

1.    Call to Order – Martha Cotter, New Brunswick Faculty Council (NBFC) Chair
Council Chairperson Martha Cotter called the 199th meeting of the New Brunswick Faculty Council to order at 1:22 p.m. on Friday, December 12, 2014 in Room 411 A/B/C of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus. The meeting had been moved from the planned location in Brower Commons because Brower had no heat. Cotter suggested that perhaps the Council should do something special for the upcoming 200th meeting.

2.    Approval of Agenda
The agenda was modified to move the breakout committee meetings to the end, and was then approved.
3.    Approval of Minutes of October 17, 2014
The Minutes of the October 17, 2014 NBFC meeting were approved as presented.
4.    Chair's Report - Martha Cotter, NBFC Chair

NBFC Chair Martha Cotter's Chair's Report included comments on the following: 5.    Administrative Report - Richard Edwards, New Brunswick Chancellor

Richard Edwards, New Brunswick Chancellor, presented an administrative report, which included comments on the following:
Edwards then responded to questions, or heard comments, on a variety of subjects, including:
6.    Resolution to Endorse the AAUP Centennial Declaration - Robert Boikess

Robert Boikess presented and moved a Resolution to Endorse the AAUP Centennial Declaration. His motion was seconded, and discussed. The resolution was then adopted unanimously. Recording Secretary Ken Swalagin registered the Council's endorsement on the AAUP website created for that purpose.

7.    Old Business

There was no old business.

8.    New Business

Comments were made about competition among Rutgers units, and related implications of RCM and budgeting.

9.    Adjournment, and Breakout Standing Committee Meetings

Cotter stated the challenges to organizing efficient Council committee meetings. She asked everyone to look at their committee charges and decide how to break those up within the committees so they can be addressed, and to determine members' schedules for the spring so committee meetings can be planned. She then called for breakout standing committee meetings, and adjourned the meeting at 2:39 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by,

Ken Swalagin
Recording Secretary of the New Brunswick Faculty Council