Minutes of the 193rd New Brunswick Faculty Council Meeting
December 13, 2013

Members Present: H. Baruh, S. Bhuyan, R. Boikess, L. Carbone, C. Clauss-Ehlers, S. Connolly, M. Cotter (Chair), J. Crowley, D. Fishman, M. Flahive DiNardo, J. Friedman, Z. Gajic, M. Gliserman, A. Howard, M-K Joo, M. Killingsworth, J-H Kim, P. Klein, D. Lammerts, X. Liu, K. McKeever, N. Minsky, L. Morrow, D. O'Connor, M. Radford, D. Redlawsk, L. Schein, M. Schwander, T. Stephens, K. St. Martin, L. Sun, G. Taghon, Z. Tan, K. Thompson, C. Uslay, W. Ward, R. Welch, E. Williams, J. Zahn

Non-Members Present: R. Edwards, K. Swalagin (Recording Secretary)

1.    Call to Order – Martha Cotter, New Brunswick Faculty Council Chairperson
Council Chairperson Martha Cotter called the 193rd meeting of the New Brunswick Faculty Council (NBFC) to order at 1:19 p.m. on Friday, December 13, 2013 in Room ABC of Brower Commons, College Avenue Campus. She welcomed all present.

2.    Approval of Agenda
The agenda for this meeting, as distributed by the chair, including time limits, was approved.
3.    Approval of Minutes of October 11, 2013
The Minutes of the October 11, 2013 NBFC meeting were corrected and approved, with the proviso that if other corrections need to be made, members will send those to Ken Swalagin, recording secretary.
4.     Chair's Report - Martha Cotter, NBFC Chair

Chairperson Cotter's report included comments on the following:
5.    Administrative Report – Richard Edwards, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Richard Edwards, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, presented an administrative report which focused on:
  Edwards then responded to questions, or heard comments, on the above and additional subjects including:
  6.    Curriculum, Teaching, and Honors Committee (CTHC) Report, Recommendations, and Resolution on the Proposal for a New Brunswick Honors College - Martha Cotter, CTHC Chair

Dan O'Connor, last year's NBFC chair, assumed the chair and presided while CTHC Chair Martha Cotter summarized her committee's report and recommendations on the proposal for a New Brunswick Honors College. The report and its recommendations, as well as the accompanying resolution, were discussed at some length, with several amendments being adopted. The report, in the form as it appears at the above link, was then adopted unanimously by the NBFC.

7.    Report on Progress in Developing the Rutgers Open Access Policy - Dan Fishman, Library and Academic Resources Committee (LARC) Chair

LARC Chair Dan Fishman reported that he and his committee are reviewing the University Senate's October 2012 report and recommendations on open access.

8.    Old Business

There was no old business.

9.    New Business

There was a brief discussion of how the NBFC can respond substantively as a group, and have input to the New Brunswick Strategic Plan.

10.    Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:26 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by,

Ken Swalagin
Recording Secretary of the New Brunswick Faculty Council