Minutes of the 165th New Brunswick Faculty Council Meeting

September 26, 2008



Members Present: M. Baykul-Gursoy, J. Bliss, R. Boikess, R. Bumby, L. Clarke, M. Cotter, P. Findley, H. Fisher, P. Gambarota, N. Glickman (Chairperson), M. Gliserman, M. Gordon, H. Janes, T. Jiang, R. Klein, R. Larrier, M. Lesk, K. McKeever, J. Markert, D. Minch, P. Panayotatos, N. Peterson, J. Phillips, H. Sackrowitz, K. St. Martin, J. Shapiro, T. Szatrowski, S. Tomasello, M. Weber, G. Werlen, L. Wiggins, R. Wilson, T. Yang


Non-Members Present: P. Furmanski, D. Greenberg, C. McAnuff, K. Swalagin (Recording Secretary)


1.        Call to Order


Council Chairperson Norman Glickman called the 165th meeting of the New Brunswick Faculty Council (NBFC) to order at 1:18 p.m. in Trayes Hall of the Douglass Campus Center, Douglass Campus. He reminded everyone to sign in, and to respond to his recent e-mail requesting Council members’ committee preferences. He summarized the meeting’s agenda, which included Executive Vice President Furmanski’s administrative report, a report by Douglas Greenberg about the School of Arts and Sciences-New Brunswick, and a report by Courtney McAnuff on admissions and recruitment.


2.        Chairperson's Report - Norman Glickman


Noting that, if the NBFC had no agenda, it had no organization, Glickman began his chairperson's report by soliciting suggestions for what issues the Council would address in the coming year. Suggestions from council members included:


3.        Approval of Minutes


On motion and duly seconded, the Minutes of the May 9, 2008 NBFC meeting were approved. 


4.        Administrative Report - Philip Furmanski, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs


Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Philip Furmanski welcomed everyone to the new academic year, congratulated Norm Glickman on his NBFC chairship, and thanked Marty Gliserman for his 2007-2008 NBFC chairship. Furmanski then presented the administrative report, which included comments on: 


Furmanski responded to questions, and heard comments, on topics that included: 


5.        Douglas Greenberg, Executive Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences-New Brunswick


Douglas Greenberg, the new Executive Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences-New Brunswick, spoke to the Council about his background, his thoughts about Rutgers University, and his plans and goals for the School of Arts and Sciences and its role at Rutgers generally. He invited the Council’s thoughts and suggestions relative to the SAS. 


6.        Courtney McAnuff, Vice President for Enrollment Management


Courtney McAnuff, Vice President for Enrollment Management, reported on admissions and applications, including the recent elimination of paper files being sent to departments, and their replacement with documentation that is now available electronically. He distributed and discussed several handouts, including one on 2009 proposed scholarships, and responded to several questions from Council members. 


7.        Old Business


There was no old business. 


8.        New Business


There was no new business. 


9.        Adjournment


The meeting adjourned at 3:36 p.m. 



Respectfully submitted, 


Ken Swalagin 

Recording Secretary